Zurich Forensic Science Institute

Profile

How Can I Become a Forensic Investigator?

Forensic superheroes as seen on CSI series on television or in detective novels – masters of every speciality of forensic technology, forensic science, and forensic medicine – do not exist in our organisation.

At the Zurich Forensic Science Institute, we employ highly educated specialists from a wide spectrum of professional backgrounds. The forensic investigator is not an entry-level job. There are two ways to get a job in the field of forensics: either through a police career or as a mid-career change from another field.

Police career: Graduation from the police academy, accrual of experience as a police officer, internal transfer within the police department to forensic services, continuing specialist training, for example at the Swiss Police Institute (SPI).

Civilian career-changers: For tasks requiring specific expertise such as laboratory analysis or logging information for identification services, associates are employed with relevant training and job experience (e.g. laboratory assistant or security personnel). Experts with backgrounds in academia typically come from the fields of chemistry, physics, biology, or have studied criminalistics at the University of Lausanne.

Forensisches Institut Zürich

Berufsbild

Wie werde ich Kriminaltechniker oder Kriminaltechnikerin?

Forensische Superhelden, wie wir sie aus den CSI-Serien im TV oder aus Kriminalromanen kennen, die sämtliche Fachgebiete der Kriminaltechnik, Kriminalwissenschaften und Rechtsmedizin beherrschen, gibt es in unseren Organisationen nicht.

Im Forensischen Institut Zürich (FOR) sind gut ausgebildete Spezialisten und Spezialistinnen mit unterschiedlichem beruflichem Hintergrund tätig. Kriminaltechniker/in ist kein Lernberuf. Es gibt grundsätzlich zwei Wege für eine Anstellung in der Kriminaltechnik: entweder über eine Polizeilaufbahn oder der zivile Quereinstieg.

Polizeilaufbahn: Absolvierung der Polizeischule, Erfahrungsaufbau im Polizeiberuf, polizei-interner Wechsel zur Kriminaltechnik, weiterführende fachspezifische Ausbildungen zum Beispiel am Schweizerischen Polizei-Institut (SPI).

Ziviler Quereinstieg: Für spezifische Fachaufgaben wie z.B. Laboranalytik oder Erkennungsdienstliche Erfassung sind Mitarbeitende mit entsprechender Ausbildung und Berufserfahrung (z.B. Chemielaboranten und -laborantinnen, Sicherheitspersonal) tätig. Akademisch ausgebildete Fachkräfte kommen typischerweise aus den Fachrichtungen Chemie, Physik, Biologie oder haben Kriminalwissenschaften an der Universität Lausanne studiert.