Zurich Forensic Science Institute

FOR-AI

Authentication/Identification

Recording and Authenticating Individual Identifying Characteristics

Every human being is unique. The Authentication/Identification Department employs forensic methods to compare attributes such as appearance and handwriting or voice.

Specialist Unit Areas of Expertise

The Personal Identification Unit records physical attributes and takes photographs of detainees in accordance with legal requirements, using appropriate standardised methods. These include the electronic collection of fingerprints and – depending on the crime – the collection of saliva samples for the creation of a DNA profile. These data points form the basis for a positive identification of persons and are entered as evidence.

Whether it is using chemical and imaging techniques to reveal blood stains which have already been cleaned up, 3D scanning of crime scenes and other places of interest or recording close-ups of evidence in the photography studio, the Imaging Unit is responsible for technically demanding imaging procedures and stands at the ready to assist other units for any special imaging needs. In addition, images and video recordings from CCTVs and other recording devices are used for visual identification of individuals and the height determination of offenders. Biometric image measurements and 3D data assist in forensic comparisons, although they cannot replace the practised eye of the human expert.

Forensisches Institut Zürich - Handschriften

Handwriting as an attribute of personal identification. The goal of forensic handwriting comparison is to clarify the authenticity of signatures and the authors of handwritten texts. The Handwriting Unit is responsible for investigating these questions, which remain relevant despite the progressive spread of electronic writing devices. Forensic handwriting comparison is distinct from graphology, which is the study of handwriting as an expression of a person's character.

From a legal point of view, documents are texts which are both created for and suitable for the purpose of proving a fact of legal significance (StGB Art. 110). The Questioned Document Unit investigates questions of authenticity and security of documents which were produced by printing or mechanical methods. The main objects of investigation are identity documents such as passports, and texts that were either printed or copied.

Forensisches Institut Zürich

FOR-AI

Authentifizierung/Identifizierung

Personenidentifizierende Merkmale erfassen und überprüfen

Jeder Mensch ist einzigartig. Im Fachbereich Authentifizierung/Identifizierung werden Merkmale wie das Aussehen, die Handschrift oder die Stimme nach forensischer Methodik verglichen.

Aufgabengebiete der Fachgruppen

Im Rahmen der rechtlichen Vorgaben erfasst der Erkennungsdienst mit geeigneten und standardisierten Mitteln das Signalement und erstellt Fotografien von Arrestanten. Dazu gehören die elektronische Abnahme von Fingerabdrücken und – je nach Delikt – die Abnahme von Speichelproben für die Erstellung eines DNA-Profils. Diese Angaben bilden die Grundlage für eine eindeutige Identifizierung von Personen und die Beweisführung.

Gesäuberte Blutspuren dank Chemie und Bildtechnik sichtbar machen, 3D-Scanning von Tatorten und Ereignisorten oder Makroaufnahmen von Spuren im Fotoatelier: Die Fachgruppe Bildforensik ist zuständig für technisch anspruchsvolle Bildgebungsverfahren und steht den anderen Fachgruppen für Spezialaufnahmen zur Verfügung. Weiter dienen Bild- und Filmaufnahmen von Überwachungskameras und anderen Aufnahmegeräten der visuellen Personenidentifizierung und Täterhöhenbestimmung. Biometrische Bildvermessungen und 3D-Daten unterstützen den forensischen Vergleich, ersetzen das geschulte Auge der Experten jedoch nicht.

Die Schrift als personenidentifizierendes Merkmal: Der forensische Schriftvergleich hat zum Ziel, die Echtheit von Unterschriften und die Urheberschaft von handschriftlichen Texten zu klären. Die Fachgruppe Handschriften nimmt sich dieser Fragestellungen an, die trotz fortschreitender Verbreitung von elektronischen Schreibgeräten relevant bleiben. Forensische Schriftvergleichung ist klar zu trennen von der Graphologie, also der Lehre von der Handschrift als Ausdruck des Charakters eines Menschen.

Im juristischen Sinn sind Urkunden Schriften, die bestimmt und geeignet sind, eine Tatsache von rechtlicher Bedeutung zu beweisen (StGB Art. 110). Die Fachgruppe Urkunden setzt sich mit Fragen zur Echtheit und Sicherheit von Dokumenten auseinander, die drucktechnisch bzw. mit mechanisch erstellten Schriften gefertigt wurden. Im Vordergrund stehen Ausweisdokumente und ausgedruckte oder kopierte Schreiben.