Zurich Forensic Science Institute

FOR-KED

The Forensic Allrounder

Associates from the Crime Scene Investigation Department (FOR-KED) are dispatched from their bases in Zurich and Winterthur for the securing of forensic evidence throughout the Canton of Zurich.

Areas of Expertise

From breaking and entering to capital offenses, Crime Scene Investigation team members are the first forensic specialists on the scene. Depending on the gravity or complexity of the crime or case, they may be reinforced by additional FOR specialists.

Before the actual search for and collection of evidence may begin, however, the entire scene is documented via photography. Shoe- and fingerprints, toolmarks, traces of fibres, glass or paint, as well as biological evidence are all collected. Since much of this evidence can be invisible to the naked eye, special lighting is employed.

Additional responsibilities are the identification of the deceased, photographic documentation of autopsies at the Institute for Forensic Medicine, and the forensic investigation of disaster scenes. Members of the Crime Scene Investigation Department are also active both nationally and internationally on behalf of the Swiss DVI Team (Disaster Victim Identification).

Forensisches Institut Zürich

FOR-KED

Kriminaltechnischer Einsatzdienst

Die spurenkundlichen Allrounder

Die Mitarbeitenden des Kriminaltechnischen Einsatzdienstes (FOR-KED) rücken ab den Standorten Zürich und Winterthur zur kriminaltechnischen Spurensicherung im ganzen Kanton Zürich aus.

Aufgabengebiete

Vom Einbruchdiebstahl bis zum Kapitalverbrechen: Die Mitarbeitenden des Kriminaltechnischen Einsatzdienstes sind die ersten Spurenspezialisten am Tatort. Je nach Schwere des Delikts bzw. Komplexität des Falles können sie durch zusätzliche Spezialkräfte des FOR unterstützt werden.

Vor der eigentlichen Spurensuche und -sicherung wird die angetroffene Situation fotografisch dokumentiert. Gesichert werden unter anderem Schuh- und Fingerabdrücke, Formspuren von Tatwerkzeugen, Mikrospuren wie Fasern, Glas oder Farbe sowie biologische Spuren. Da es sich teilweise um latente (unsichtbare) Spuren handelt, kommen spezielle Lichtquellen zum Einsatz.

Weitere Aufgaben sind die Identifizierung von Verstorbenen, die fotografische Dokumentation von Obduktionen im Institut für Rechtsmedizin sowie die kriminaltechnische Schadenplatzbearbeitung bei Grossereignissen. Zahlreiche Mitarbeitende sind ausserdem national und international für das DVI Team Schweiz tätig (Disaster Victim Identification).