Zurich Forensic Science Institute

FOR-UT

Accidents/Technology

It Doesn't Always Have to Be a Crime

Physical and transient evidence is not just useful for identifying offenders and solving crimes. The Accidents/Technology Department uses such evidence to determine the causes of accidents and reconstruct their circumstances and timeline.

Specialist Unit Areas of Expertise

The Accident Analysis Unit assumes evidential duties following traffic accidents, accidents in the workplace, air traffic accidents, etc. Relevant evidence might include traces of material transfers on safety belts (automobiles), the functional state of headlamps at the time of the accident, or traces of paint transfer left on vehicles involved in a crash.

The calculation of speed and braking distance is one of the standard duties assigned to the accident investigator. The laws of physics make it possible to reconstruct the circumstances of an accident and conduct collision analyses based on detailed surveys of the scene (photographs, photogrammetry, and scans).

The Electrical Engineering Unit is consulted when electrical sources or technical defects are suspected in the case of a fire or accident. Amateur electrical installations in particular are frequently the cause of electrical accidents with major consequences.

When Roman candles, firecrackers, and sparkler fountains are set off on August 1st, they have all been tested and screened by the Pyrotechnics Unit, which has the mandate of monitoring all pyrotechnic products destined for sale in Switzerland.

The Technical Development Unit's speciality is the development, testing, assessment, and evaluation of agents and materials utilised by law enforcement to protect against the effects of weapons. The unit also services and maintains special equipment (e.g. robots for bomb disposal) or designs them in order to operate custom-made devices.

Forensisches Institut Zürich

FOR-UT

Unfälle/Technik

Es muss nicht immer ein Verbrechen sein

Spuren dienen nicht nur der Identifizierung der Täterschaft und der Aufklärung von Verbrechen. Der Fachbereich Unfälle/Technik klärt anhand von Spuren Unfallursachen und rekonstruiert Unfallhergänge.

Aufgabengebiete der Fachgruppen

Die Fachgruppe Unfalluntersuchungen übernimmt die spurenkundlichen Tätigkeiten bei Verkehrsunfällen, Arbeitsunfällen, Flugunfällen usw. Relevant sein können Materialübertragungen an den Sicherheitsgurten (Auto), der Beleuchtungszustand der Schweinwerfer im Moment des Unfalls oder Lackübertragungen zwischen zwei verunfallten Fahrzeugen.

Die Berechnung der Geschwindigkeit und des Bremsweges gehört zu den Standardaufgaben der Unfallanalytik. Physikalische Gesetzmässigkeiten ermöglichen es, aufgrund von detaillierten Situationsübersichten (Fotografie, Fotogrammetrie oder Scan) Unfallhergänge zu rekonstruieren und Kollisionsanalysen durchzuführen.

Stehen nach einem Brand oder Unfall elektrische Quellen oder technische Defekte im Vordergrund, wird die Fachgruppe Elektrotechnik beigezogen. Gerade bei selber gebastelten Installationen kommt es immer wieder zu Elektrounfällen mit dramatischem Ausgang.

Wenn am 1. August und an Silvester Raketen, Böller und Vulkane gezündet werden, wurden diese Produkte vorgängig durch die Fachgruppe Pyrotechnik, der die Kontrolle von pyrotechnischen Produkten für den Schweizer Markt obliegt, getestet und überprüft.

Die Fachgruppe Entwicklung ist spezialisiert auf die Entwicklung, Erprobung, Begutachtung und Evaluation von polizeilichen Einsatzmitteln und Schutzmaterialien gegen Waffenwirkungen. Sie wartet ausserdem eigene Spezialanwendungen (z.B. Roboter für Bombenentschärfungen) oder konzipiert diese, um massgeschneiderte Gerätschaften betreiben zu können.