Our Department

Central idea "security - social commitment - sports"

Regierungsrat Mario Fehr

The Department of Security is one of seven Departments of the Canton of Zurich. It employs some 4400 staff.

Although the activities of the Department of Security seem to be very diverse at first sight, they share one common goal: they serve the purpose of guaranteeing security in our canton – in the broadest sense of the word: not only does it mean the absence of violence or crime, but it also guarantees a safe social environment.

Our social and foreigners' policies are aimed at fairness for all parties concerned. And finally, wide sections of the community are actively involved in sport.